Today, the world wakes up with this sad news:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, the master innovator is now gone. What made me sad about his demise is that with him comes perhaps a thousand more ideas that the world will never see anymore–evolutionary and revolutionary ideas that could bring humanity to another level of achievement.

In many ways, I admire his narcissism, his perfectionism, and his flare for creative innovation. He might be a strict, perhaps a ruthless boss, but I would have wanted him to become my boss if I were given a chance. In part, he is in me and the person who I wanted to be. He captures the impact that I also wanted to accomplish in my life time as an educator.

Nevertheless, he remains an influence. Early this school year, I and my students watched his 2005 speech at Stanford University as part of our listening activity. So it feels like, we are so connected with him because we digested his speech point by point and uncovered strategic life lessons to pursue… except perhaps for quitting school because that will be very radical. Today, I believe that he will remain in us as the three stories of his life: connect the dots, love and loss, and death. He talked about the course in this life  and the pursuit of doing what one loved most. What I am happy about is that these lessons will create more impact in my students’ life because they feel that they part of it, they are part of him, because when we were studying this we do not just study about effective public speaking or listening skills, we learned about living out the journey of our lives.

Indeed, We will stay hungry and we will stay foolish.

Leave a Reply

